Führungsteam

Mark Mader, CEO

Als President und CEO von Smartsheet (NYSE: SMAR) führt Mark ein Unternehmen, das die Art revolutionieren möchte, wie Organisationen ihre Arbeit größenangepasst planen, nachverfolgen, verwalten, automatisieren und Berichte dazu erstellen.

Mit mehr als 20 Jahren Erfahrung in der Unternehmensleitung und der Förderung von Innovationen im Bereich stark wachsender Software-as-a-Service-(SaaS-)Unternehmen ist Mark eine anerkannte Führungsperson im Technologiesektor. Er wurde von Ernst & Young zum Entrepreneur of the Year in Technology for the Pacific Northwest sowie von GeekWire zum CEO of the Year ernannt. Unter seiner Führung wurde Smartsheet vom Puget Sound Business Journal zum Best Workplace in Washington und von GeekWire zum Next Tech Titan von Seattle ernannt.

Seiner Begeisterung für Unternehmertum und technologische Innovationen folgend trägt Mark zu Medien-Outlets wie Forbes, CNBC und Entrepreneur bei und war Redner bei einer Reihe von Veranstaltungen, wie dem NYSE Tech Leadership Summit, SaaStr und der YPO Innovation Week. Mark ist zugleich Vorstandsmitglied der University of Washington Information School, einer der weltweit besten Bildungseinrichtungen für Informationswissenschaft.

Als deutscher und US-amerikanischer Staatsbürger und nach ausgedehnten (Arbeits-)Aufenthalten im Ausland besitzt Mark eine globale Perspektive, die er bei den Produkten und Dienstleistungen von Smartsheet einbringt. Mark hat einen B.A. in Geografie des Dartmouth College.

Jennifer Ceran, CFO

Jennifer Ceran ist Chief Financial Officer und Corporate Treasurer bei Smartsheet. Mit mehr als 30 Jahren Berufserfahrung in den USA und international bringt Jennifer den Enthusiasmus mit, der zur Bildung höchst leistungsstarker Teams und für die Skalierung von Unternehmen erforderlich ist. Bevor sie zu Smartsheet kam, war Jennifer CFO bei Quotient Technology, Inc. (vorher Coupons.com), VP finance bei Box Inc., VP Finance bei eBay Inc., und Director of Corporate Finance bei Cisco. 2017 wurde sie vom Puget Sound Business Journal zum CFO of the Year ernannt und wurde häufig von Treasury and Risk Management als eine der „100 Most Influential People in Finance“ aufgeführt.

Jennifer hat einen MBA der University of Chicago Booth School of Business und BA-Abschlüsse in Kommunikation und Französisch der Vanderbilt University. In ihrer Freizeit treibt sie gerne Sport, erkundet den pazifischen Nordwesten und dient anderen als Mentor.

Mike Arntz, CRO

Mike Arntz ist Chief Revenue Officer and Executive Vice President von Smartsheet für Field Operations weltweit. In dieser Rolle ist er verantwortlich für Vertrieb, Dienstleistungen und Support des Unternehmens. Vor Smartsheet war Mike Senior VP of Sales für den amerikanischen Kontinent bei NetSuite. Und davor arbeitete er fast 20 Jahre lang für Oracle Corp., zuletzt als Group Vice President für den nordamerikanischen Vertrieb. In dieser Funktion schuf und leitete er die Organisation, die für den Vertrieb der Software as a Service-(SaaS-)Anwendungen von Oracle zuständig ist.

Mike hat Abschlüsse in Ingenieurswesen und Biologie der Michigan Technological University. Wenn er nicht arbeitet, feuert er seine drei Kinder bei ihren Sportaktivitäten an, angelt, segelt und fährt Ski.

Anna Griffin, CMO

Anna Griffin ist Chief Marketing Officer bei Smartsheet. Sie hat mehr als zwei Jahrzehnte Erfahrung in leitenden Marketing-Positionen und war zuletzt Chief Marketing Officer bei der IEX Group, eine provisionsfreie Börse für US-Wertpapiere. Vor ihrer Zeit bei der IEX Group arbeitete Anna fünf Jahre bei CA Technologies als Senior Vice President of Corporate Marketing, wo sie eine weltweite Re-Branding-Initiative leitete. Davor war sie fünf Jahre lang als Vice President of Global Marketing bei Juniper Networks tätig.

Anna hatte zudem Management-Positionen in Werbe- und Markenkommunikationsagenturen inne und leitete integrierte Marketingprogramme für Marken wie Apple, Bank of America, Royal Caribbean, Sony, Saturn und Land’s End. Sie wurde mit zwei Golden Effies, vier Best B2B Campaigns of the Year und dem Edgar R. Murrow Award for Digital Media ausgezeichnet und wurde 2016 zur Advertising Women of New York’s Game Changer sowie zur Moves Magazine Power Woman 2018 ernannt.

Aufgewachsen im Oster von North Carolina ist Anna ein begeisterter College Basketball-Fan (Go UNC Carolina!) und entdeckt gerne den pazifischen Nordwesten gemeinsam mit ihrem Mann und ihren Kindern.

Gene Farrell, CPO

Gene Farrell ist Chief Product Officer bei Smartsheet, verantwortlich für die Durchführung der Produkt- und Partnermarketingstrategien des Unternehmens. In seiner vorherigen Position war Gene fünf Jahre lang bei Amazon Web Services als Vice President of Enterprise Application Services und EC2 Windows tätig. Vor Amazon bekleidete Gene 24 Jahre lang eine Führungsrolle bei The Coca-Cola Company, zuletzt sieben Jahre lang als Vice President und General Manager des Coca-Cola Freestyle Business Unit.

Gene absolvierte die University of Washington mit einem Abschluss in Betriebswirtschaftslehre und erwarb einen MBA der Goizueta Business School der Emory University. Gene lebt mit seiner Frau Helen in Sammamish. In seiner Freizeit spielt er Golf, fährt Ski und Fahrrad und betreibt fast alle Wassersportarten.

Praerit Garg, CTO

Praerit Garg ist der Chief Technology Officer und Executive Vice President of Engineering von Smartsheet. Er verfügt über mehr als 23 Jahre Erfahrung mit dem Aufbau umfassender verteilter Systeme und Internetdienste und ist Miterfinder von mehr als 25 Patenten. Er kommt von AWS zu uns, wo er als General Manager für Identität, Zugriff und Verzeichnisdienste tätig war. Davor begründete er Symform mit, ein verteiltes Internetspeicher-Startup, das von Quantum übernommen wurde. Er arbeitete zudem 12 Jahre für Microsoft, war Teil des ursprünglichen Teams, das Active Directory aufbaute, und leitete Design und Implementierung vieler der Funktionen für Benutzeridentität, Zugriff und Verschlüsselung in Windows. Er gründete und leitete eine Organisation mit mehr als 300 Mitarbeitern, welche verteilte Systemmanagementfunktionen für Windows-, System Center- und Visual Studio-Produkte bereitstellte.

Praerit engagiert sich sehr für den Aufbau einer innovativen Engineering-Kultur, die skalierbar ist, einfachere Lösungen für schwierige Probleme findet und herausragende Erfahrungen für unsere Kunden bietet. Er hat einen Master-Abschluss in Computerwissenschaften der Purdue University. In seiner Freizeit reist er gerne mit seiner Familie und entdeckt neue Kulturen und ihre Speisen, Kunst, Architektur und die damit zusammenhängende Menschheitsgeschichte.

Kara Hamilton, CPCO

Kara Hamilton ist Chief People and Culture Officer bei Smartsheet. Sie schafft eine Mitarbeitererfahrung, die motivierend und inspirierend sein soll, und das klappt hervorragend: Smartsheet hat kürzlich verschiedene Auszeichnungen als Arbeitsplatz erhalten, wie zuletzt den ersten Preis als 2017 Washington's Best Workplace, verliehen vom Puget Sound Business Journal. Bevor sie sich ausschließlich auf den Bereich Personalwesen konzentrierte, hat Kara bei Smartsheet außerdem die Finanz-, Rechts- und IT-Abteilung geleitet. Vor Smartsheet war Kara Director of Finance bei GoAhead Software (aufgekauft von Oracle) und dort für die Leitung des Geschäftsbetriebs in den USA, Polen und Indien zuständig. Vor GoAhead hatte sie verschiedene Führungsrollen bei Vigilos inne, darunter Betrieb, Entwicklung und Finanzwesen. Drei Jahre lang war sie dort Vice President of Finance.

Kara hat einen BS-Abschluss in Handel der Santa Clara University. Ursprünglich aus der Bay-Area um San Francisco stammend, verliebte sie sich in den pazifischen Nordwesten und lebt nun mit ihrer Familie in Phinney Ridge, einem Stadtviertel von Seattle.

Paul Porrini, CLO

Paul Porrini ist Chief Legal Officer und Secretary bei Smartsheet. Er besitzt mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung bei der Führung öffentlicher und privater Technologieunternehmen in Phasen des Wachstums und Wandels. Zuletzt war Paul President und Chief Executive Officer bei YuMe, Inc., eine globale digitale Videowerbeplattform. Davor war er als Executive Vice President, General Counsel und Secretary tätig. Vor dieser Zeit war er Vice President, Deputy General Counsel und Assistant Secretary bei der Hewlett-Packard Company (NYSE: HPQ), ein großes Unternehmen aus dem Technologiesektor. Und davor war er Senior Vice President, General Counsel und Secretary bei Bluestone Software, Inc., ein Enterprise-Softwareunternehmen für Web-App-Server. Darüber hinaus war er Partner und Associate bei verschiedenen Kanzleien.

Seine rechtliche Laufbahn begann Paul in der Abteilung Corporation Finance der U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Er hält einen B.S. in quantitativer Business-Analyse der Pennsylvania State University, einen J.D. der Widener University School of Law und einen L.L.M. (für Steuerrecht) vom Georgetown University Law Center. Seine knappe Freizeit verbringt er mit seinen drei erwachsenen Kindern sowie mit Wandern, Radfahren und Hockey.

Leadership

Mark Mader, CEO

As president and chief executive officer of Smartsheet (NYSE: SMAR), Mark leads a company committed to transforming the way organizations plan, track, manage, automate, and report on work at scale.

With over 20 years executive leadership experience driving innovation for high-growth Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) companies, Mark is a recognized leader in the technology community. He has been named Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year in Technology for the Pacific Northwest, and GeekWire’s CEO of the Year. Under his leadership, Smartsheet was named Washington’s Best Workplace by the Puget Sound Business Journal, and Seattle’s Next Tech Titan by GeekWire.

Passionate about entrepreneurship and tech innovation, Mark is a contributor to media outlets like Forbes, CNBC, and Entrepreneur, and has been a featured speaker at a range of events, including the NYSE Tech Leadership Summit, SaaStr, and YPO Innovation Week. He also serves as a board member of the University of Washington Information School, one of the world’s top information science programs.

A dual-citizen of Germany and the United States, he has spent considerable time working and living abroad and applies that global perspective to the products and services that Smartsheet delivers. Mark graduated with a B.A. in Geography from Dartmouth College.

Jennifer Ceran, CFO

Jennifer Ceran is Smartsheet’s chief financial officer and corporate treasurer. With more than 30 years of work experience in the US and internationally, Jennifer is passionate about creating high-performing teams and scaling businesses. Prior to Smartsheet, Jennifer was the CFO of Quotient Technology, Inc. (formerly Coupons.com), VP finance at Box Inc., VP finance at eBay Inc., and director of corporate finance at Cisco. In 2017, she was named CFO of the Year by the Puget Sound Business Journal and has frequently been recognized by Treasury and Risk Management as one of the “100 Most Influential People in Finance.”

Jennifer received an MBA from the University of Chicago Booth School of Business and BAs in Communications and French from Vanderbilt University. In her free time, she enjoys sports, exploring the Pacific Northwest and mentoring others.

Mike Arntz, CRO

Mike Arntz is Smartsheet’s chief revenue officer and executive vice president of worldwide field operations, responsible for the company’s sales, service, and support operations. Before joining Smartsheet, Mike served as NetSuite's senior VP of sales, Americas. Prior to that, he spent nearly 20 years at Oracle Corp., most recently serving as group vice president, North America application sales, where he created and led the organization responsible for sales of Oracle's Software as a Service (SaaS) applications.

Mike received degrees in engineering and biology from Michigan Technological University. In his non-work time he enjoys cheering on his three kids in their various sports activities, fishing, sailing, and skiing.

Anna Griffin, CMO

Anna Griffin is chief marketing officer at Smartsheet. She brings more than two decades of experience in senior marketing roles and was most recently chief marketing officer at IEX Group, a disruptive trading exchange for U.S. equities. Prior to IEX Group, Anna spent five years at CA Technologies as senior vice president of corporate marketing, where she led a global re-branding effort. Before CA, she served for five years as vice president of global marketing at Juniper Networks.

Anna has also held executive-level positions at advertising and brand communication agencies, leading integrated marketing programs for brands such as Apple, Bank of America, Royal Caribbean, Sony, Saturn, and Land’s End. She has been awarded two Golden Effies, four Best B2B Campaigns of the Year, the Edgar R. Murrow Award for Digital Media, and was named 2016 Advertising Women of New York’s Game Changer, and Moves Magazine Power Woman 2018.

A native of Eastern North Carolina, Anna is a fierce college basketball fan (go UNC Carolina!) and is excited to explore the Pacific Northwest with her husband and children.

Gene Farrell, CPO

Gene Farrell is the chief product officer at Smartsheet, responsible for executing the company's product and partner marketing strategies. Gene comes to Smartsheet from Amazon Web Services where he spent five years as vice president of enterprise application services and EC2 Windows. Prior to his leadership at Amazon, Gene spent 24 years as a senior executive at The Coca-Cola Company, the last seven of which as vice president and general manager of the Coca-Cola Freestyle Business Unit.

Gene graduated with a degree in business administration and management from the University of Washington and received an MBA from Emory University’s Goizueta Business School. Gene and his wife Helen live in Sammamish. In his spare time, Gene enjoys golf, snow skiing, cycling, and almost all water sports.

Praerit Garg, CTO

Praerit Garg is Smartsheet's chief technology officer and executive vice president of engineering. He brings more than 23 years’ experience building large-scale distributed systems and internet services, and is co-inventor on more than 25 patents. He joins us from AWS, where he was general manager for identity, access, and directory services; prior to that, he co-founded Symform, a distributed internet storage startup which was acquired by Quantum. He also served for 12 years at Microsoft, was part of the original team that built Active Directory, and led the design and implementation of many of the user identity, access, and encryption features in Windows. He built and led a 300+ person organization that delivered distributed systems management capabilities across Windows, System Center, and Visual Studio products.

Praerit is passionate about building an engineering culture of innovation that scales, finding simpler solutions to hard problems, and delivering great experiences for our customers. He holds a master’s degree in Computer Science from Purdue University. In his free time, he loves to travel with his family, experiencing different cultures and their food, art, architecture, and related human history.

Kara Hamilton, CPCO

 

Kara Hamilton is chief people and culture officer at Smartsheet. She is dedicated to creating a meaningful and inclusive employee experience that motivates and inspires, and it shows: Smartsheet has garnered numerous company culture and leadership awards, most recently taking top honors as a best place to work in Seattle and Boston. Prior to focusing exclusively on people and culture at Smartsheet, Kara also led finance, legal, and IT to achieve operational excellence in support of Smartsheet’s strategic goals. Before joining Smartsheet, Kara served as the director of finance for GoAhead Software (acquired by Oracle), and led their business operations across the US, Poland, and India. Prior to GoAhead, she held various leadership roles at Vigilos across operations, development, and finance, and served as their vice president of finance for three years.

Kara graduated with a B.S. in Commerce from Santa Clara University. A Bay Area native who fell in love with the Pacific Northwest, Kara and her family live in the Phinney Ridge neighborhood of Seattle.

Paul Porrini, CLO

Paul Porrini is Smartsheet’s chief legal officer and secretary. He has over 20 years of experience leading public and private technology companies through periods of significant growth and change. Paul most recently served as president and chief executive officer at YuMe, Inc., a global digital video advertising platform; prior to that, he was their executive vice president, general counsel, and secretary. Previously, he was vice president, deputy general counsel, and assistant secretary at Hewlett-Packard Company (NYSE: HPQ), a large cap technology company. Before that he was senior vice president, general counsel, and secretary of Bluestone Software, Inc., a web app server enterprise software company. He has also held partner and associate roles at several law firms.

Paul began his legal career in the US SEC's Division of Corporation Finance. He holds a B.S. in quantitative business analysis from Pennsylvania State University, a J.D. from Widener University School of Law, and an L.L.M. (Taxation) from Georgetown University Law Center. In his spare time, Paul likes keeping track of his 3 grown children, hiking, cycling, and playing hockey.