Was ist Stakeholder-Theorie?

By Becky Simon | 23. November 2016 (aktualisiert 3. August 2022)

Es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten, zu berücksichtigen, wer und was Stakeholder (dt. Interessegruppen) sowohl in einem Unternehmen als auch in den Projekten eines Unternehmens sind. Die "Shareholder Theorie" (dt.Aktionärs-Theorie), die der Ökonom Milton Friedman Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts vorträgt, besagt, dass ein Unternehmen nur den Aktionären verpflichtet ist - das heißt, das Unternehmen muss seinen Aktionären einen Gewinn erwirtschaften.

Die Stakeholder-Theorie wurde zuerst von Dr. F. Edward Freeman, Professor an der University of Virginia, in seinem wegweisenden Buch"Strategic Management: A Stakeholder Approach" beschrieben. Es deutet darauf hin, dass Aktionäre nur einer von vielen Stakeholdern in einem Unternehmen sind. Das Stakeholder-Ökosystem, so heißt es in dieser Theorie, umfasst alle, die in das Unternehmen investiert und daran beteiligt sind oder von diesem betroffen sind: Mitarbeiter, Umweltschützer in der Nähe der Werke des Unternehmens, Anbieter, Regierungsbehörden und mehr. Freemans Theorie legt nahe, dass der wahre Erfolg eines Unternehmens darin besteht, alle Stakeholder zufrieden zu stellen, nicht nur diejenigen, die von ihren Aktien profitieren könnten.

In diesem Artikel erläutern wir die Stakeholder-Theorie und sprechen mit zwei führenden globalen Ökonomen und Philosophen darüber, warum sie ein besseres und stärkeres Unternehmen formen. Wir werden auch untersuchen, wie sich einzelne Projekte auf verschiedene Arten von Stakeholdern auswirken können.

Definition: Was ist Stakeholder-Theorie?

Die Stakeholder-Theorievon Edward Freeman besagt, dass zu den Stakeholdern eines Unternehmens so gut wie jeder gehört, der vom Unternehmen und seinen Arbeitsweisen betroffen ist. Diese Ansicht steht im Gegensatz zu der von dem Ökonomen Milton Friedman vorgeschlagenen, seit langem vertretenen Aktionärstheorie, dass sich ein Unternehmen im Kapitalismus nur um seine Aktionäre kümmern sollte - und damit auch sein Gewinn. Friedman ist der Ansicht, dass Unternehmen gezwungen sind, Gewinne zu erzielen, ihre Aktionäre zufrieden zu stellen und weiterhin positives Wachstum zu erzielen.


Im Gegensatz dazu schlägt Dr. Freeman vor, dass die Stakeholder eines Unternehmens "jene Gruppen sind, ohne deren Unterstützung die Organisation nicht mehr existieren würde." Zu diesen Gruppen würden Kunden, Mitarbeiter, Lieferanten, politische Aktionsgruppen, Umweltgruppen, lokale Gemeinschaften, Medien, Finanzinstitute, Regierungsgruppen und mehr gehören. Diese Ansicht zeichnet das Unternehmensumfeld als ein Ökosystem verwandter Gruppen, die alle berücksichtigt und zufrieden sein müssen, um das Unternehmen langfristig gesund und erfolgreich zu halten.

 

 


In den Büchern von Dr. Freeman wird beschrieben, wie ein gesundes Unternehmen nie alle Beteiligten aus den Augen verliert. Die Stakeholder-Theorie besagt, dass ein Unternehmen irgendwann scheitern wird, wenn es seine Mitarbeiter schlecht behandelt. Wenn es seine Projekteden Gemeinschaften aufzwingt, um nachteilige Auswirkungen zu haben, würde wahrscheinlich dasselbe passieren. "Ein Unternehmen kann keinen seiner Stakeholder ignorieren und wirklich erfolgreich sein", sagte Dr. Freeman in einem Interview. "Es könnte kurzfristige Gewinne geben, aber wenn Stakeholder unzufrieden werden und sich im Nsen fühlen, kann das Unternehmen nicht überleben."

 

Stakeholder-Theorie vs. Shareholder-Theorie

Der Ökonom Milton Friedman, dessen Arbeit einen großen Teil des Amerikanischen Unternehmens des 20. Jahrhunderts prägte, glaubte an die freie Marktwirtschaft und den verzicht auf staatliche Eingriffe. Diesee Überzeugung trug dazu bei, seine Shareholder-Theorie des Kapitalismus zu prägen: Dass es die alleinige Verantwortung eines Unternehmens ist, Geld für seine Aktionäre zu verdienen.


Die in Friedmans Buch "Kapitalismus und Freiheit" beschriebene Shareholder-Theorie, die auch als "Friedman-Doktrin" bezeichnet wird, besagt, dass ein Unternehmen keine wirkliche "soziale Verantwortung" gegenüber der Öffentlichkeit hat, da es nur darum geht, die Gewinne für die Aktionäre zu steigern. Die Aktionäre wiederum würden jede soziale Verantwortung privat übernehmen.


Als Edward Freeman 1984 sein Buch zur Stakeholder-Theorie veröffentlichte, wurde das Bewusstsein für die Beziehungen und die Auswirkungen eines Unternehmens und seiner vielen Stakeholder schärfen.


Es wird vorgeschlagen, dass zu den Stakeholdern eines Unternehmens Mitarbeiter, Kunden, Community-Mitglieder, Wettbewerber, Lieferanten, Auftragnehmer und Aktionäre gehören. Stakeholder könnten auch Institutionen wie Banken, Regierungsbehörden, Aufsichtsorganisationen und andere sein.


"Wenn man darüber nachdenkt, macht das Sinn", sagte Freeman in einem Interview. "Alle Stakeholder des Unternehmens sind voneinander abhängig. Und ein Unternehmen schafft Wert – oder sollte es für seinen eigenen Erfolg."

Edward Freemans Ansicht zur Stakeholder-Theorie im 21. Jahrhundert

"Wenn Sie alle Ihre Stakeholder dazu bringen können, in die gleiche Richtung zu schwimmen oder zu rudern, haben Sie ein Unternehmen mit Schwung und echter Kraft", sagt Freeman. "Zu sagen, dass Gewinne für ein Unternehmen das einzig wichtige, ist wie zu sagen: 'Rote Blutkörperchen sind Leben.' Sie brauchen rote Blutkörperchen, um Leben zu haben, aber Sie brauchen noch so viel mehr."


Die Stakeholder-Theorie ist in der neuen globalen Wirtschaft noch wichtiger, stellt Freeman fest. Ein Unternehmen muss nicht nur diejenigen berücksichtigen, die Aktien im Unternehmen halten, sondern auch diejenigen, die in ihren Geschäften arbeiten, die in der Nähe seiner Fabriken arbeiten und leben, diejenigen, die damit Geschäfte machen, und sogar von Wettbewerbern, da das Unternehmen die Landschaft in seiner Branche prägen.


"Selbst einige ältere Unternehmen wie Unilever erfinden sich neu, um die Stakeholder-Theorie mit sehr starken Ergebnissen zu verwenden", sagt Freeman. Und die Ergebnisse, wenn ein Unternehmen die Stakeholder-Theorie nicht anschließt? "Enron", sagt er, von dem Energiekonzern, der Anfang der 2000er Jahre durch Korruption und andere Skandale in die Knie gezwungen wurde.

So bewerten Sie die Stakeholder eines Unternehmens unter Stakeholder-Theorie


Betrachten wir ein hypothetisches Unternehmen, das Eigentumswohnungen in einer amerikanischen Stadt baut. Dieses Unternehmen ist an die Börse gegangen, daher sind seine Aktionäre gespannt auf einen Wertanstieg ihrer Aktien. Nach der Stakeholder-Theorie könnten diese Aktionäre jedoch von mehreren anderen Arten von Stakeholdern mit jeweils eigenen Interessen im Verhältnis zum Unternehmen verbunden werden. Hier einige mögliche Stakeholder mit Interesse an diesem Unternehmen und seinen Projekten:


Mitarbeiter: Die Mitarbeiter wollen fair behandelt und entlohnt werden und angemessene Stunden arbeiten. Wenn das Unternehmen die Mitarbeiter unterzahlt oder ihnen langwierige und schwierige Arbeitsschichten gibt, wird die Einstellung der Mitarbeiter und die Zustimmung im Unternehmen erodieren. Es wird Fluktuation schlechte Mundpropaganda unter den potenziellen Arbeitskräften in der Region und ein geschwächtes Unternehmen geben.

  1. Lieferanten: Lieferanten für dieses Condo-Projekt möchten auch fair behandelt und entschädigt werden, oder ähnliche Ergebnisse, wie sie mit Mitarbeitern zu sehen waren. Nach der Stakeholder-Theorie sollten Lieferanten jedoch auch ihr eigenes Unternehmen ethisch, fair und gerecht führen. Wenn das Condo-Unternehmen wirklich langfristigen Erfolg haben möchte, so die Stakeholder-Theorie, sollte es Lieferanten und Verkäufer gut behandeln, aber auch die Sorgfaltspflicht bei der Geschäftstätigkeit der Lieferantenunternehmen selbst tragen.
  2. Hersteller: In einer globalen Wirtschaft werden manchmal Teile oder sogar ganze Produkte in anderen Ländern hergestellt, weit weg vom Hauptmarkt oder dem Standort des Projekts. Damit das Condo-Unternehmen gut abspricht, muss es sich aber auch an seine Hersteller - und seine Mitarbeiter - als Stakeholder denken. Arbeitsbedingungen und Löhne müssen also auch für sie fair und gerecht sein.
  3. Umweltschützer: Menschen, die in der Stadt und Nachbarschaft leben, in der die Wohnentwicklung gebaut wird, möchten sicher sein, dass die Umwelt, das Wassersystem, die Energiequellen und andere möglicherweise vom Projekt betroffene Dinge so transparent wie möglich geschützt werden. Diese Menschen, die sich um die lokale Ökologie kümmern, würden nach der Stakeholder-Theorie als Stakeholder am Projekt betrachtet und sollten über Pläne und Entwicklungen informiert werden, damit sie die Möglichkeit haben, sie zu überprüfen und ihre Gedanken einzubringen.
  4. Wohnaktivisten: Da immer mehr Wohnprojekte in immer dichteren Städten gebaut werden, haben viele lokale Aktivisten eine politische Stimme und ein Interesse daran, wie mit neuen Entwicklungen umgegangen wird. Gibt es genügend Parkplätze für jeden Bewohner? Welche Art von Dienstleistungen werden die Bewohner benötigen und welche wurden berücksichtigt? Verdrängt das Projekt langjährige Bewohner der Region, und würden sie in der neuen Struktur als Mieter betrachtet? Wenn sich das Bauunternehmen wirklich der Stakeholder-Theorie anschließt, möchte es sich von diesen Aktivisten einkaufen. Es ist gute Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, aber darüber hinaus stellt echte Stakeholder zufrieden.
  5. Staatliche Stellen: Die Stadt, der Landkreis und der Staat haben wahrscheinlich Dichte, Umwelt und andere Bedenken. Selbst mit behördlicher Genehmigung benötigt ein Bauprojekt regelmäßige Überprüfung bei staatlichen Stellen, regulierten Agenturen wie Gas- und Elektrounternehmen und mehr. Zum Beispiel kann es in einem historischen Teil der Stadt Designbeschränkungen oder Höhenbeschränkungen in einem überwiegend Einfamilienhausgebiet geben. All das oben genannten Sind gültige Bedenken für diese Stakeholder.
  6. Nachbarn: Diese Stakeholder werden für eine lange Zeit Stakeholder sein und neben der neuen Eigentumswohnungsentwicklung leben. Wenn das Bauunternehmen diesen Stakeholdern zu gute kommen möchte, sollte es Parkplätze, Grünflächen und Parks in Betracht ziehen und vielleicht einen Raum schaffen, der von allen Nachbarn (nicht nur den Bewohnern der Eigentumswohnung) genutzt und geteilt werden kann. Nachbarn sollten das Gefühl haben, dass ihre Lebensqualität erhalten oder verbessert wird - aber nicht wegen des Projekts reduziert wird.


Dies ist keineswegs eine vollständige Liste, aber wenn Sie beginnen, an Ihr Unternehmen und seine Projekte in Bezug auf das gesamte Ökosystem potenzieller Stakeholder zu denken, können Sie sehen, wie weitreichend Ihre Wirkungen sein können. Einige werden ein finanzielles Interesse an Ihrem Projekt haben. Einige werden ein emotionales Interesse haben. Viele haben vielleicht beides. Und die Stakeholder-Theorie besagt, dass all diese Stakeholder und ihre Interessen für den Erfolg Ihres Projekts von entscheidender Bedeutung sind.

Craig McDonald und seine Sicht auf Stakeholder-Theorie und Unternehmensverantwortung

Craig McDonald, emeritierter Professor für Informatik an der University of Canberra in Australien, hat ausführlich über die Stakeholder-Theorie und darüber geschrieben, wie Geschäftsethik den zukünftigen Erfolg eines Unternehmens gestalten kann.


Professor McDonald sagt, dass seine Ansicht einfach ist. "Wenn Sie das Leben in der Zukunft schätzen, sollten Sie die Umwelt schützen, indem Sie die Verschmutzung bekämpfen, eine nachhaltige Extraktion aus der Biosphäre verwenden usw. Vermutlich handeln Sie so, dass Sie hoffen, dass sie Ihre Werte zum Ausdruck bringen und zu einem Ergebnis führen, das Sie glücklich macht."


Mit anderen Worten, sagt er, dass Unternehmensverantwortung und Geschäftsethik keinen eigenen speziellen Fokus im Unternehmen benötigen, solange das Unternehmen für alle Stakeholder, von Lieferanten und Mitarbeitern bis zu Fabrikarbeitern und Umweltschützern, eine echte Stakeholder-Theorie praktiziert.


"Natürlich funktioniert das nicht immer so", sagt McDonald, "vielleicht weil wir unsere wahren Werte nicht kennen, bis wir sie auf die Probe stellen können oder vielleicht... trotz unseres guten Willens schief gelaufen sind... Unterm Strich sollten Sie herausfinden, was Ihre Werte sind, was Ihr Kontext ist und welche Folgen Ihre Handlungen haben werden. Dann entscheide, was auf sachkundige und verantwortungsvolle Weise zu tun ist."

Stakeholder-Theorie in einer globalen Wirtschaft

 

In today’s global economy, Professor McDonald says, consumers should be prepared to pay the real price for goods. He speaks of a hypothetical manufacturer of a popular product, which is sold around the world, though primarily in the Americas and Europe. The product is manufactured in Asia, where the employees are underpaid, and deal with tough working conditions. Additionally, the plants may be polluting the local environment.


“This company,” Professor McDonald says, “should be brought to account by international law. Its directors and executives should be put to work to repair the damage they have done, and improve the lot of all concerned. And If the consumers didn't know about the real cost of their product, they should be told, and should pay the real price. If they did know and didn't care, they should join the directors [in helping repair the damage]. The market needs to be restructured to ensure that we assess the real economic cost of products and services.”

Vorteile der Verwendung der Stakeholder-Theorie

Wenn Sie die Meinungen und den Einfluss aller Stakeholder nutzen können, um Ihr Projekt mitzugestalten, sind Sie und das Projekt viel besser für den Erfolg positioniert. Die Vorteile können die Wahrnehmung Ihres Projekts und Ihres Unternehmens beeinflussen, nicht nur mit all Ihren erweiterten Stakeholdern, sondern auch mit dem Rest der Welt.

Edward Freeman says that organizations, especially corporations, need to stop thinking of the word “ethics” in only a negative fashion. “It’s a word typically done in a negative light, as in, ‘that company has bad ethics, or isn’t behaving ethically.’ Instead, if we are practicing stakeholder theory, we need to shine a light on ethics when they are positive.” This means being transparent about how the company has considered the needs and interests of employees, suppliers, factory workers, local neighbors, and everyone else.


Freeman sagt, dass die Schaffung dieses gesunden Ökosystems erforderlich ist, damit das Unternehmen langfristig erfolgreich sein kann. Wenn ein Unternehmen mit einem dieser Stakeholder Abstriche macht, wird es nicht auf lange Sicht funktionieren."


Die effektive Anwendung der Stakeholder-Theorie führt auch zu guter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit. Wenn das Wohnungsunternehmen einen Park für die lokalen Nachbarn baut und einen nahe gelegenen Bach reinigt, der ein wichtiger Wendepunkt in der Gegend ist, wird die gesamte Stadt einen viel günstigere Sicht auf das Unternehmen haben und den Weg für einen langfristigen zukünftigen Erfolg ebnen.

Stakeholder-Kommunikation: Wer muss wissen, was und wann?

Sobald Sie Ihre erweiterte Gruppe von Stakeholdern und ihre größten Bedürfnisse, Interessen usw. identifiziert haben, können Sie auch mit der Erstellung eines Kommunikationsplans beginnen.


Im Falle der Eigentumswohnungsentwicklung kann es nützlich sein, eine Nachbarschafts-Liaison zu identifizieren, beispielsweise einen Mitarbeiter vor Ort, der regelmäßig die Nachbarn besuchen, Meetings usw. halten kann, um sicherzustellen, dass alle Anwohner in der Nähe das Gefühl haben, gehört zu werden.

Wo sie Weitere Informationen zur Stakeholder-Theorie erfahren können

Professor Edward Freeman ist ein führender Experte in der Stakeholder-Theorie und hat viele Bücher zu diesem Thema geschrieben. Er ist Professor an der Darden School of Business an der University of Virginia. Erfahre mehr über Freeman:

 


Weitere Quellen sind ein beliebtes Lehrbuch zum Thema " Business and Society: Sustainabilitytand Stakeholder-Management" von Archie B. Carroll und Ann K. Buchholz, das erstmals 2014 veröffentlicht wurde.


Professor Craig McDonald lehrt an der University of Canberra in Australien in der Informatik, die sich auf die Interkonnektivität von Wirtschaft, Technologie und anderen Bereichen konzentriert. Darüber hinaus unterrichten die meisten Business Schools jetzt Stakeholder-Theorie, manchmal in Business-Ethik-Kursen.

Smartsheet kann Ihnen helfen, erweiterte Stakeholder-Analyse-, Mapping- und Kommunikationspläne durchzuführen

Befähigen Sie Ihr Team, über sich selbst hinauszuwachsen – mit einer flexiblen Plattform, die auf seine Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten ist und sich anpasst, wenn sich die Bedürfnisse ändern. Mit der Plattform von Smartsheet ist es einfach, Arbeiten von überall zu planen, zu erfassen, zu verwalten und darüber zu berichten. So helfen Sie Ihrem Team, effektiver zu sein und mehr zu schaffen. Sie können über die Schlüsselmetriken Bericht erstatten und erhalten Echtzeit-Einblicke in laufende Arbeiten durch Rollup-Berichte, Dashboards und automatisierte Workflows, mit denen Ihr Team stets miteinander verbunden und informiert ist. Es ist erstaunlich, wie viel mehr Teams in der gleichen Zeit erledigen können, wenn sie ein klares Bild von der geleisteten Arbeit haben. Testen Sie Smartsheet gleich heute kostenlos.

 

Finden Sie heraus, weshalb sich mehr als 90% der Fortune 100-Unternehmen bei der Erledigung von Arbeiten auf Smartsheet verlassen.

Testen Sie Smartsheet kostenlos Get a Free Smartsheet Demo

We're sorry, the browser you are using is limiting the functionality of this website. To get the best experience, we recommend that you switch to an up-to-date fully supported web browser. If you feel that you have received this message in error, please contact us.

Multipart article

What Is Stakeholder Theory and How Does It Impact an Organization?

Try Smartsheet for Free

There are several ways to consider who and what are stakeholders in both an organization and an organization’s projects. The “shareholder theory,” posited in the early 20th century by economist Milton Friedman, says that a company is beholden only to shareholders - that is, the company must make a profit for its shareholders.

Stakeholder theory was first described by Dr. F. Edward Freeman, a professor at the University of Virginia, in his landmark book, “Strategic Management: A Stakeholder Approach.” It suggests that shareholders are merely one of many stakeholders in a company. The stakeholder ecosystem, this theory says, involves anyone invested and involved in, or affected by, the company: employees, environmentalists near the company’s plants, vendors, governmental agencies, and more. Freeman’s theory suggests that a company’s real success lies in satisfying all its stakeholders, not just those who might profit from its stock.

In this article, we’ll explain stakeholder theory, and also talk to two leading global economists and philosophers on why it shapes a better and stronger company. We will also look at how individual projects may have an impact on a variety of types of stakeholders.

Definition: What Is Stakeholder Theory?

Edward Freeman’s stakeholder theory holds that a company’s stakeholders include just about anyone affected by the company and its workings. That view is in opposition to the long-held shareholder theory proposed by economist Milton Friedman that in capitalism, the only stakeholders a company should care about are its shareholders - and thus, its bottom line. Friedman’s view is that companies are compelled to make a profit, to satisfy their shareholders, and to continue positive growth.


By contrast, Dr. Freeman suggests that a company’s stakeholders are "those groups without whose support the organization would cease to exist." These groups would include customers, employees, suppliers, political action groups, environmental groups, local communities, the media, financial institutions, governmental groups, and more. This view paints the corporate environment as an ecosystem of related groups, all of whom need to be considered and satisfied to keep the company healthy and successful in the longterm.



Dr. Freeman’s books describe how a healthy company never loses sight of everyone involved in its success. Stakeholder theory says that if it treats its employees badly, a company will eventually fail. If it forces its projects on communities to detrimental effects, the same would likely happen. “A company can’t ignore any of its stakeholders and truly succeed,” Dr. Freeman said in an interview. “There might be short-term profits, but as stakeholders become dissatisfied, and feel let down, the company cannot survive.”

Stakeholder Theory vs. Shareholder Theory

Economist Milton Friedman, whose work shaped much of 20th-century corporate America, was a believer in the free-market system and no government intervention. This belief helped shape his shareholder theory of capitalism: that a company’s sole responsibility is to make money for its shareholders. 


Also called the “Friedman doctrine,” shareholder theory, outlined in Friedman’s book “Capitalism and Freedom,” states that a company has no real “social responsibility” to the public, since its only concern is to increase profits for the shareholders. The shareholders, in turn, would privately shoulder any social responsibility.


When Edward Freeman first published his book about stakeholder theory in 1984, it raised awareness of the relationships and the ripple-effect of a company and its many stakeholders.


It suggests that a company’s stakeholders include people like employees, customers, community members, competitors, vendors, contractors, and shareholders. Stakeholders could also be institutions, like banks, governmental bodies, oversight organizations, and others. 


“If you think about it, it makes sense,” Freeman said in an interview. “All company stakeholders are interdependent. And a company creates value - or should, for its own success - for all of them.”

Edward Freeman’s View on Stakeholder Theory in the 21st Century

“If you can get all your stakeholders to swim or row in the same direction, you’ve got a company with momentum and real power,” Freeman says. “Saying that profits are the only important thing to a company is like saying, ‘Red blood cells are life.’ You need red blood cells to have life, but you need so much more.”


Stakeholder theory is even more important in the new global economy, Freeman notes. An organization needs to be mindful not only of those who hold stock in the company, but also of those who work in its stores, those who work and live near its factories, those who do business with it, and even of competitors, as the company may shape the landscape in its industry.


“Even some older companies like Unilever are re-inventing themselves to use stakeholder theory with very strong results,” Freeman says. And the results if a company doesn’t subscribe to stakeholder theory? “Enron,” he says, of the energy company that was brought down by corruption and other scandals in the early 2000s.

How to Assess a Company’s Stakeholders under Stakeholder Theory


[[perhaps include grid of possible stakeholders here; see separate doc]]


Let’s consider a hypothetical company that builds condos in an American city. That company has gone public, so its shareholders are eager to see a rise in the value of their stock. Under stakeholder theory, however, those shareholders could be joined by several other types of stakeholders, each with its own interests relative to the company. Here are a few possible stakeholders with interest in this company and its projects:


Employees: The employees want to be treated and compensated fairly, and work reasonable hours. If the company underpays the employees, or gives them lengthy and difficult work shifts, the employee attitude and buy-in in the company is going to erode. There will be turnover, bad word-of-mouth among the potential workforce in the area, and a weakened company.

  1. Suppliers: Suppliers for this condo project also want to be treated and compensated fairly, or similar results as those with employees could be seen. However, under stakeholder theory, suppliers should also be operating their own businesses ethically, fairly, and equitably. If the condo company truly wants long-term success, stakeholder theory holds, it should treat suppliers and vendors well, but also do due diligence on how the supplier companies themselves do business.
  2. Manufacturers: In a global economy, sometimes parts or even whole products are manufactured in other countries, far away from the main marketplace or the location of  the project. But for this condo company to do well, it must think of its manufacturers - and their employees - as stakeholders too. So, working conditions and wages must be fair and equitable for them as well.
  3. Environmentalists: People who live in the city and neighborhood where the housing development is being constructed want to be assured that the environment, water system, power sources, and other things potentially affected by the project, are protected in as transparent a way as possible. These people who care about the local ecology would, under stakeholder theory, be considered stakeholders in the project, and should be kept apprised of plans and developments so they can have a chance to review them and weigh in with their thoughts.
  4. Housing activists: As more and more housing projects are built in increasingly dense cities, many local activists have a political voice and stake in how new developments are handled. Will there be enough parking for every resident? What kind of services will the residents need and have these been taken into account? Does the project displace long-time residents of the area, and, if so, would they be considered as tenants in the new structure? If the construction company is truly subscribing to stakeholder theory, it will want to get buy-in from these activists. It’s good public relations, but more than that, it’s truly satisfying real stakeholders.
  5. Governmental bodies: The city, county, and state likely have density, environmental, and other concerns. Even with governmental approval, a construction project needs regular check-ins with governmental bodies, regulated agencies like gas and electric companies, and more. For instance, there may be design restrictions in a historic part of town, or height restrictions in a mostly single-family-home area. All of the aforementioned are valid concerns to these stakeholders.
  6. Neighbors: These stakeholders are going to be stakeholders for a long time, living alongside the new condo development. If the construction company wants to please these stakeholders, it should consider parking, greenspace and parks, and perhaps create a space that can be used and shared by all the neighbors (not just the condo residents). Neighbors should feel as though their quality of life is being maintained or enhanced - but not reduced because of the project.


This is by no means a complete list, but as you start to think of your company and its projects in terms of the full ecosystem of potential stakeholders, you can see how far-reaching your impact can be. Some will have a financial interest in your project. Some will have an emotional interest. Many may have both. And stakeholder theory holds that all these stakeholders, as well as their interests, are critical to your project’s success.

Craig McDonald and His View on Stakeholder Theory and Corporate Responsibility

Craig McDonald, Professor Emeritus of Informatics at the University of Canberra in Australia, has written extensively on stakeholder theory, and on how business ethics can shape the future success of a company.


Professor McDonald says his view is simple. “If you value life in the future, you should preserve the environment by addressing pollution, using sustainable extraction from the biosphere, etc…Presumably, you act in a way that you hope will express your values, and produce an outcome that makes you happy.”


In other words, he says, corporate responsibility and business ethics don’t need their own special focus inside the company, as long as the company practices true stakeholder theory for all its stakeholders, from suppliers and employees to factory workers and environmentalists.


“Of course, it doesn't always work out this way,” McDonald says, “maybe because we don't know what our real values are until we are in a position that tests them, or maybe… things went pear-shaped, despite our good will…The bottom line is, figure out what your values are, what your context is, what the consequences of your actions will be. Then decide what to do in a knowledgeable and responsible manner.”

Stakeholder Theory in a Global Economy

In today’s global economy, Professor McDonald says, consumers should be prepared to pay the real price for goods. He speaks of a hypothetical manufacturer of a popular product, which is sold around the world, though primarily in the Americas and Europe. The product is manufactured in Asia, where the employees are underpaid, and deal with tough working conditions. Additionally, the plants may be polluting the local environment.


“This company,” Professor McDonald says, “should be brought to account by international law. Its directors and executives should be put to work to repair the damage they have done, and improve the lot of all concerned. And If the consumers didn't know about the real cost of their product, they should be told, and should pay the real price. If they did know and didn't care, they should join the directors [in helping repair the damage]. The market needs to be restructured to ensure that we assess the real economic cost of products and services.”

Benefits of Using Stakeholder Theory

When you can use the opinions and influence of all your stakeholders to help shape your project, you and the project will be much better positioned for success. The benefits can shape the perception of your project and your company, not only with all of your extended stakeholders, but with the rest of the world.


Edward Freeman says that organizations, especially corporations, need to stop thinking of the word “ethics” in only a negative fashion. “It’s a word typically done in a negative light, as in, ‘that company has bad ethics, or isn’t behaving ethically.’ Instead, if we are practicing stakeholder theory, we need to shine a light on ethics when they are positive.” This means being transparent about how the company has considered the needs and interests of employees, suppliers, factory workers, local neighbors, and everyone else.


Creating this healthy ecosystem, Freeman says, “is needed for the company to truly succeed in the longterm. If a company cuts corners with any of these stakeholders, it isn’t going to work out over the long haul.”


The effective use of stakeholder theory also yields good public relations. If the condo-building company builds a park for the local neighbors, and cleans up a nearby creek that’s an important watershed in the area, the entire city will have a much more favorable view of the company, paving the way for long-term future success.

Stakeholder Communications: Who Needs to Know What and When?

Once you’ve identified your extended group of stakeholders and their biggest needs, interests, etc., you can also begin to draft a communications plan.


In the case of the condo development, it may be useful to identify a neighborhood liaison, for example, an on-site employee who can periodically visit the neighbors, hold meetings, etc., to ensure all nearby residents feel they are being heard.


[[example of extended stakeholders grid, with communication rows added, here]]

Where to Learn More about Stakeholder Theory

Professor Edward Freeman is a leading expert in stakeholder theory, and has written many books on the topic. He is a professor at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia. Learn more about Freeman:

 


Other sources include a popular textbook on the topic, “Business and Society: Ethics, Sustainability, and Stakeholder Management,” by Archie B. Carroll and Ann K. Buchholz, first published in 2014. 


Professor Craig McDonald teaches at the University of Canberra in Australia, in the study of informatics, which focuses on the interconnectivity of business, technology, and other areas. Additionally, most business schools now teach stakeholder theory, sometimes in business ethics courses.

Smartsheet Can Help You Conduct Extended Stakeholder Analysis, Mapping, and Communication Plans

Smartsheet is a powerful collaboration and communication tool for project managers. The familiar spreadsheet layout makes it easy to organize tasks and assign roles so you can see who is responsible for which tasks at a glance. You can create a stakeholder contact list in Smartsheet, and share the list with all project stakeholders to keep everyone updated. Store additional details, such as contracts and email correspondence, by attaching items directly to the rows in your sheet. Then, use Smartsheet’s mobile app to get in touch with a vendor or team member in the field. 


In addition to centralizing stakeholder contact information, project managers will appreciate Smartsheet’s real-time updates and the ability to alert the team about new changes using email alerts. It can also be used as a central repository for documents, project assets, and comments that everyone on the team can access from any location where they have an Internet connection.


Increase transparency with stakeholders by sharing your templates, and easily switch between Grid, Gantt, Calendar, and Card Views to visualize your project timeline. For people and teams that want to work more visually, and for situations where a highly-visual view is most appropriate, Card View provides a powerful new way to visualize, share, and act on work in motion.


See how easy it is to use Smartsheet to organize all your project management needs. 


Sign up for a free 30-day trial today

What Is Stakeholder Theory and How Does It Impact an Organization?

Try Smartsheet for Free