Conseil d’administration de Smartsheet

Geoffrey Barker, président

Geoffrey Barker est un entrepreneur et investisseur qui, outre son rôle de directeur de Smartsheet, siège actuellement aux conseils d’administration des entreprises ZipWhip, SpecialX, Light & Motion, Vimly Inc. et Tell Friends, Inc. Précédemment, il était le directeur de l’exploitation et co-fondateur de la société RPX Corporation, un leader en solutions de gestion des risques en matière de dépôt de brevets. Outre RPX (Nasdaq : RPXC), il a co-fondé le Cobalt Group, par la suite acquis par ADP pour 400 millions de dollars, ainsi que Vigilos, Inc.

Il a débuté sa carrière dans l’industrie des services financiers en tant que courtier et banquier d’affaires chez Kidder Peabody, Piper Jaffray et Salomon Brothers. En 2015, il a servi en tant que membre directeur du conseil d’administration de la Yale School of Management. Il est titulaire d’une licence en économie de la Tufts University et d’un MBA de la Columbia University.

Brent Frei, directeur

Avant de co-fonder Smartsheet, Brent a été PDG et co-fondateur d’Onyx Software Corporation, une société de logiciels de gestion de la relation client (CRM) basée à Bellevue et régulièrement classée parmi les cinq meilleurs fournisseurs de solutions de CRM au monde. Au cours de ses dix années en tant que PDG d’Onyx, Brent a supervisé la génération de 600 millions de dollars de recettes directes.

En 2001, Brent a été reconnu « pionnier en technologie » par le Smithsonian Institute et a reçu le prix Engineering Fletcher Award de la Thayer School de Dartmouth College pour l’ensemble de ses réalisations. Brent a également occupé différents postes chez Intellectual Ventures, Microsoft et Motorola. Sportif actif et père de cinq enfants, Brent trouve rarement le temps de s’asseoir. Il utilise même un bureau en position debout.

Elena Gomez, directrice

Elena Gomez est la directrice financière de Zendesk. Avant d’intégrer Zendesk en mai 2016, Elena a dirigé l’équipe des finances et de la stratégie pour les organismes go-to-market de Salesforce. Au cours des six années passées chez Salesforce, elle a contribué à développer des opérations financières d’envergure mondiale, afin d’aider à soutenir la considérable croissance de l’entreprise dans le cadre de sa conquête de marchés.

Lors de sa carrière de vingt ans au sein d’entreprises du Fortune 500 telles que Visa et Charles Schwab, Elena s’est distinguée dans le leadership des finances stratégiques. Elle siège également au conseil d’administration national de Spark, une organisation à but non lucratif qui transforme les vies de collégiens à risque grâce à un programme de mentorat individuel. Elena est titulaire d’un Bachelor de la Walter Haas School of Business, qui fait partie de la University of California (Berkeley).

Mike Gregoire, directeur

Mike Gregoire est un associé fondateur de Brighton Park Capital, une société d’investissement qu’il a fondée en janvier 2019. Avant cela, Mike a été PDG de CA technologies, où il a accéléré le leadership de l’entreprise en matière de logiciels, grâce à des offres innovantes, une marque renouvelée et une présence renforcée sur le marché. Avant cela, Mike a été président et directeur général de Taleo Corporation, vice-président exécutif de PeopleSoft et directeur exécutif de Electronic Data Systems EDS.

Avec une carrière de plus de 25 ans dans le domaine des logiciels et de la technologie, Mike est largement reconnu comme un conseiller stratégique du secteur. Il a été président du comité directeur des gouverneurs des technologies de l’information du Forum économique mondial et membre du comité de l’information et des technologies de la Business Roundtable. Mike siège actuellement au conseil exécutif de TechNet, une organisation de PDG qui représente l’industrie technologique sur les questions politiques essentielles à l’innovation et à la compétitivité économique des États-Unis. Il siège également au conseil d’administration de la Women’s Sports Foundation (pour le sport féminin), qui se consacre à la création de leaders en assurant l’accès de toutes les filles au sport.

Mike a obtenu une licence de physique et d’informatique à l’université Wilfrid Laurier en Ontario, au Canada, et un MBA à la California Coast University.

Mark Mader, directeur

Mark est un chef de file reconnu dans la communauté technologique. En tant que dirigeant, il est un moteur d’innovation pour les entreprises SaaS (Software-as-a-Service) à forte croissance, et ce depuis plus de 20 ans. Ernst & Young l’a honoré de son prix « Entrepreneur of the Year » pour l’industrie technologique (division Nord-Ouest Pacifique), et GeekWire l’a nommé « CEO of the Year ». Sous sa houlette, Smartsheet a reçu le prix du meilleur lieu de travail de l’état de Washington, décerné par la Puget Sound Business Journal, et a été nommé « Next Tech Titan » (le titan technologique de demain) de Seattle par GeekWire.

Passionné par l’esprit d’entreprise et l’innovation technologique, Mark contribue à des médias tels que Bloomberg, Forbes, CNBC et Entrepreneur. Il a été un présentateur vedette lors de nombreux événements, notamment à la « YPO Innovation Week » (semaine de l’innovation de l’organisation des jeunes présidents) et au « NYSE Tech Leadership Summit » (sommet du leadership technologique de la bourse de New York). Il est également membre du conseil d’administration de ZoomInfo, l’école d’information de l’université de Washington, l’un des meilleurs programmes de sciences de l’information nationaux, et membre du conseil consultatif des sociétés cotées en bourse de New York (LCAB)

De double nationalité, allemande et américaine, Mark a longtemps travaillé et vécu à l’étranger, et il s’efforce d’apporter une dynamique internationale aux produits et aux services que propose Smartsheet. Mark est titulaire d’une licence en géographie du Dartmouth College.

Matt McIlwain, directeur

Matt McIlwain est le directeur général de Madrona Venture Group, où il se consacre à une large gamme d’entreprises orientées sur l’informatique et les données. Outre Smartsheet, il siège actuellement à plusieurs conseils d’administration, dont ExtraHop, Skytap, Qumulo, Igneous, et Amperity. Il a siégé aux conseils d’administration d’Isilon Systems (ISLN acquis par EMC), iConclude (acquis par Opsware/HPE), Farecast (acquis par Microsoft), Turi/Dato (acquis par Apple), Tier3 (acquis par CenturyLink), World Wide Packets (acquis par Ciena), Placed (acquis par Snap) et Apptio (acquis par Vista Equity Partners). Il est également vice-président du conseil d’administration du Fred Hutch Cancer Research Center, dont le siège se trouve à Seattle. Il est aussi membre du conseil d’administration du Washington Policy Center.

Avant de rejoindre Madrona en 2000, Matt était vice-président des processus d’exploitation pour la Genuine Parts Company (NYSE : GPC). Il a travaillé par le passé à McKinsey & Company, se concentrant sur la stratégie et le marketing pour les industries de la technologie et des service financiers, et a travaillé pour la banque d’investissement CSFB. Matt est titulaire d’un diplôme du Darthmouth College, d’un MBA de la Harvard Business School et d’un Master en politique publique de la Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government.

Rowan Trollope, directeur

Rowan Trollope est le PDG de Five9, un fournisseur de logiciels de centres de contact dans le cloud pour les entreprises. Rowan est passionné par la façon dont la transformation numérique révolutionne notre façon de communiquer, en particulier par la manière dont les organisations apportent des expériences personnalisées à leurs clients. Rowan est un leader reconnu de la Silicon Valley. Il possède une expérience approfondie des solutions logicielles et de l’innovation dans le domaine du cloud. Avant de rejoindre Five9, Rowan était vice-président et directeur général du groupe des applications de Cisco, ainsi que membre de l’équipe de direction. Sous la direction de Rowan, l’entreprise a actualisé l’ensemble du portefeuille des technologies de collaboration, en simplifiant la gamme de produits et en remportant plus de 20 récompenses pour la conception de produits exceptionnels.

Avant Cisco, M. Rowan était président du groupe des ventes, du marketing et du développement de produits chez Symantec, responsable de la sécurité dans le cloud et du marché des PME. Il a développé la stratégie SaaS (Software-as-a-Service) de l’entreprise et a élargi ses modèles de livraison et d’assistance à la clientèle, basés sur le cloud.

Jim White, directeur

Jim White est directeur général chez Sutter Hill Ventures, où il se concentre sur les marchés de l’entreprise et du consommateur. Outre Smartsheet, il siège actuellement aux conseils d’administration d’Eversight, de Markov Corporation et de Vlocity.com. Les précédents investissements de Jim incluent Bix.com (acquise par Yahoo), Data Domain (introduite en bourse sous le code DDUP par la suite acquise par EMC), Farecast (acquise par Microsoft), Glassdoor (acquise par Recruit Holdings), Infinera (PAPE INFN), Inquira (acquise par Oracle), et Shutterfly (PAPE SFLY).

Jim était auparavant vice-président du Marketing chez Macromedia et directeur général de la division d’apprentissage interactif, ensuite rachetée par IBM Software Group. Avant de rejoindre Macromedia, Jim était vice-président du marketing chez Silicon Graphics (SGI). Jim a démarré sa carrière chez Hewlett-Packard dans la division des ordinateurs personnels. Jim est titulaire d’une licence en génie industriel de l’université Northwestern et d’un MBA de Harvard.

Magdalena Yesil, directrice

Magdalena Yesil est entrepreneuse et investisseuse dans la Silicon Valley. Elle siège actuellement à plusieurs conseils d’administration, en plus de celui de Smartsheet, dont Zuora (NYSE : ZUO), SoFi et Informed. Elle a été parmi les premières à investir dans plus de 30 entreprises. Elle fut la première investisseuse de Salesforce et membre fondatrice de son conseil d’administration. Elle y a siégé depuis les débuts de l’entreprise, et après son premier appel public à l’épargne (PAPE). Elle figure également parmi les fondateurs de Broadway Angels. Plus récemment, elle a été pendant huit ans associée commanditée au sein de la société de capital-risque US Venture Partners (USVP), où elle a réalisé des investissements dans un large porte-feuille de start-up technologiques.

Avant sa carrière dans les investissements, Magdalena s’est consacrée à l’entrepreneuriat, domaine dans lequel elle a connu trois réussites majeures. Il s’agit d’UUNet, une entreprise d’accès à Internet (PAPE), de CyberCash, pionner des systèmes de paiements électroniques sécurisés (PAPE) et de MarketPay, une entreprise de logiciels de paiements intégrés. Ces trois succès lui ont valu d’être désignée Entrepreneur de l’année par le Red Herring Magazine. Magdalena est titulaire d’un Bachelor en génie industriel et science/ingénierie de la gestion, ainsi que d’un Master en génie électrique, tous deux obtenus à l’université de Stanford.

Smartsheet Board of Directors

Geof Barker, Chair

Geoffrey Barker is an entrepreneur and investor who, in addition to his role as a director of Smartsheet, currently serves on the boards of Laird Superfood, Inc. (NYSE: LSF), ZipWhip, Vimly, Inc., SpecialX, and Light & Motion, Inc. Previously, he was the COO and co-founder of RPX Corporation, a leading provider of patent risk management solutions. In addition to RPX, he co-founded The Cobalt Group and Vigilos Inc.  Mr. Barker also serves on the board of The Eden Reforestation Projects, the world’s largest and most efficient reforestation NGO.

He began his career in the financial services industry as a trader and investment banker at Kidder Peabody, Piper Jaffray and Salomon Brothers, Inc.  He holds a BA in Economics from Tufts University and a MBA from Columbia University.

Alissa Abdullah, Director 

Alissa Abdullah is the Deputy Chief Security Officer at Mastercard where she leads the Emerging Corporate Security Solutions team and is responsible for protecting Mastercard's information assets as well as driving the future of security.

An award-winning senior information technology and cybersecurity leader, Alissa has more than 20 years of experience across the intelligence community and private sector. Prior to Mastercard, she was the chief information security officer of Xerox where she established and led a corporate-wide information risk management program. She also served as the deputy chief information officer of the White House where she helped modernize the Executive Office of the President's IT systems with cloud services and virtualization.

Alissa has a doctorate in Information Technology Management from Capella University, a master's degree in Telecommunications and Computer Networks from The George Washington University, and a bachelor's degree in mathematics from Savannah State University.​

Brent Frei, Director

Before co-founding Smartsheet, Brent was the CEO and co-founder of Onyx Software Corporation, a Bellevue-based customer relationship management (CRM) software company that consistently ranked top five amongst CRM vendors worldwide. In his ten years as Onyx CEO, Brent oversaw the generation of $600 million in direct revenue.

In 2001, Brent was recognized by the Smithsonian Institute as a "Pioneer in Technology" and was awarded Dartmouth College's Thayer School of Engineering Fletcher Award for lifetime achievement. Brent has also held roles at Intellectual Ventures, Microsoft, and Motorola. An active sportsman and father to five children, you’ll rarely find Brent sitting down. He even uses a stand-up desk.

Elena Gomez, Director

Elena Gomez is the chief financial officer of Zendesk. Prior to joining Zendesk in May 2016, Elena led the finance and strategy team for Salesforce’s go-to-market organizations. During her six years at Salesforce, she helped build a world-class finance operation to help support the company’s hyper growth as it moved up-market.

Elena has built a track record of strategic financial leadership and accomplishment throughout her two-decade career in finance at Fortune 500 companies including Visa and Charles Schwab. She also serves on the national board for Spark, a nonprofit dedicated to changing the lives of at-risk middle schoolers through one-on-one mentorship. Elena holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of California at Berkeley’s Walter Haas School of Business.

Mike Gregoire, Director

Mike Gregoire is a founding partner at Brighton Park Capital, an investment firm he founded in January 2019. Prior to that, Mike served as CEO of CA technologies, where he accelerated the company’s software leadership with innovative offerings, a renewed brand, and a strengthened market presence. Before that, Mike was Chairman and CEO of Taleo Corporation, Executive Vice President at PeopleSoft, and Executive Director at Electronic Data Systems EDS.

With a career spanning more than 25 years in software and technology, Mike is widely recognized as a strategic thinker in the industry. He has been the chair of the World Economic Forum’s IT Governors Steering Committee, and a member of the Business Roundtable’s Information and Technology Committee. Mike currently serves on the Executive Council of TechNet, an organization of CEOs that represents the technology industry in policy issues critical to American innovation and economic competitiveness. He also serves on the Board of the Women’s Sports Foundation, which is dedicated to creating leaders by ensuring all girls access to sports.

Mike earned a B.S. in Physics and Computing from Wilfrid Laurier University in Ontario, Canada, and an M.B.A. from California Coast University.

Mark Mader, Director

With over 20 years executive leadership experience driving innovation for high-growth Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) companies, Mark is a recognized leader in the technology community. He has been named Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year in Technology for the Pacific Northwest, and GeekWire’s CEO of the Year. Under his leadership, Smartsheet was named Washington’s Best Workplace by the Puget Sound Business Journal, and Seattle’s Next Tech Titan by GeekWire.

Passionate about entrepreneurship and tech innovation, Mark is a contributor to media outlets like Bloomberg, Forbes, CNBC, and Entrepreneur, and has been a featured speaker at many events, including YPO Innovation Week, and the NYSE Tech Leadership Summit. He also serves as a board member of ZoomInfo, the University of Washington Information School, one of the nation’s top information science programs, and as a member of the New York Stock Exchange’s Listed Companies Advisory Board (LCAB).

A dual-citizen of Germany and the United States, he has spent considerable time working and living abroad and applies that global perspective to the products and services that Smartsheet delivers. Mark graduated with a B.A. in Geography from Dartmouth College.

Matt McIlwain, Director

Matt McIlwain is a managing director at Madrona Venture Group where he focuses on a broad range of software and data-driven companies. In addition to Smartsheet, he currently serves on several boards including ExtraHop, Skytap, Qumulo, and Amperity. He was on the boards of Isilon Systems (ISLN acquired by EMC), iConclude (acquired by Opsware/HPE), Farecast (acquired by Microsoft), Turi/Dato (acquired by Apple), Tier3 (acquired by CenturyLink), World Wide Packets (acquired by Ciena), Placed (acquired by Snap), and Apptio (acquired by Vista Equity Partners). He also is a member of the Fred Hutch Cancer Research Center Board of Trustees and on the board of the Washington Policy Center. 

Before joining Madrona in 2000, Matt was vice president of business process for the Genuine Parts Company (NYSE:GPC). He was previously at McKinsey & Company, concentrating on strategy and marketing in the technology and financial service industries, and worked in investment banking at CSFB. Matt is a graduate of Dartmouth College and holds an MBA from Harvard Business School and a Master's in Public Policy from Harvard's Kennedy School of Government. 

Rowan Trollope, Director

Rowan Trollope is CEO of Five9, a provider of cloud contact center software for the enterprise. Rowan is passionate about how digital transformation revolutionizes the way we communicate, in particular how organizations bring personalized experiences to their customers. Rowan is a recognized Silicon Valley leader and has a depth of experience in software solutions and cloud innovation. Prior to Five9, Rowan was SVP and General Manager of Cisco’s Applications Group and a member of the executive leadership team. Under Rowan’s leadership they refreshed the entire collaboration technology portfolio, simplifying the product line and winning over 20 awards for outstanding product design.

Prior to Cisco, Rowan was a group president of sales, marketing, and product development at Symantec, responsible for cloud security and the SMB market. He developed and grew the company’s SaaS strategy and expanded their cloud-based delivery and customer support models.

Jim White, Director

Jim White was a managing director at Sutter Hill Ventures where he focused on both enterprise and consumer markets. Jim’s past investments include Bix.com (acquired by Yahoo), Data Domain (NASDAQ: DDUP then acquired by EMC), Farecast (acquired by Microsoft), Glassdoor (acquired by Recruit Holdings), Infinera (NASDAQ: INFN), Inquira (acquired by Oracle), and Shutterfly (NASDAQ: SFLY then acquired by Apollo Global Management). 

Jim was formerly the VP of marketing at Macromedia and general manager of the Interactive Learning Division which was sold to IBM Software Group. Prior to Macromedia, Jim was a VP of marketing for Silicon Graphics (SGI). Jim began his career with Hewlett-Packard in the PC division. Jim holds a BS in industrial engineering from Northwestern University and an MBA from Harvard University.

Magdalena Yesil, Director

Magdalena Yesil is a Silicon Valley entrepreneur and investor. She currently serves on several boards in addition to Smartsheet, including Zuora (NYSE: ZUO), SoFi, and Informed. She has been an early investor in over 30 companies and was the founding board member and first investor of Salesforce, serving on the board from inception to post IPO. She is also a founder of Broadway Angels. Most recently, she spent eight years as a general partner at the venture capital firm US Venture Partners (USVP), making investments in a broad spectrum of technology startups.

Prior to her investing career, Magdalena was a serial entrepreneur with three successful exits. UUNet, an enterprise level Internet access company (IPO), CyberCash, a pioneer in the secure electronic payment systems (IPO), and MarketPay, an embedded payments software company. Based on these successes, she was chosen as Entrepreneur of the Year by Red Herring Magazine. Magdalena holds Bachelor of Science degrees in Industrial Engineering and Management Science/Engineering and a Master of Science degree in Electrical Engineering, all from Stanford University.