Management

Smartsheet Management

Mark Mader, President und CEO

Mark Mader ist President und CEO von Smartsheet, einem stark wachsenden Softwareunternehmen, welches die Art und Weise transformiert, wie Unternehmen ihre Arbeit größenangepasst planen, nachverfolgen, automatisieren und darüber berichten. Mark führt eine in Seattle ansässige leistungsstarke Belegschaft mit mehr als 800 Angestellten, die eine SaaS-Plattform für mehr als 74.000 Kunden, darunter mehr als die Hälfte der Fortune 500-Unternehmen, und für Millionen von Benutzern bereitstellen.

Mark hat eine anerkannte Führungsrolle in der Technologieszene. Er wurde von Ernst & Young zum Entrepreneur of the Year in Technology im pazifischen Nordwesten der USA sowie von GeekWire als CEO of the Year gekürt. Unter seiner Führung wurde Smartsheet vom Puget Sound Business Journal zum Best Workplace und von GeekWire zum Next Tech Titan ernannt. Mark ist zugleich Vorstandsmitglied der University of Washington Information School, einer der weltweit besten Bildungseinrichtungen für Informationswissenschaft.

In Medienauftritten wie z.B. bei CNBC und Entrepreneur spricht Mark über seine Leidenschaft für Unternehmertum und technische Innovation. Außerdem ist er Gastredner bei zahlreichen Veranstaltungen wie Startup Grind, YPO Innovation Week und dem NYSE Tech Leadership Summit.

Vor Smartsheet war Mark als Senior Vice President of Global Services bei Onyx Software tätig, wo er die Beratungs- und kundenseitigen Teams in Amerika, Europa und Asien leitete. Als doppelter deutscher und US-amerikanischer Staatsbürger und nach ausgedehnten Arbeitsaufenthalten im Ausland besitzt Mark eine globale Perspektive, welche er bei den Produkten und Dienstleistungen von Smartsheet einbringt. Mark hat einen Bachelor-Abschluss in Geografie vom Dartmouth College.

Jennifer Ceran, CFO

Jennifer Ceran ist der Chief Financial Officer von Smartsheet. Mit mehr als 25 Jahren Berufserfahrung in den USA und international bringt Jennifer den Enthusiasmus mit, der zur Bildung höchst leistungsstarker Teams erforderlich ist. Bevor sie zu Smartsheet kam, war Jennifer CFO bei Quotient Technology Inc. (vormals Coupons.com), VP Finance von Box Inc., VP Finance bei eBay Inc. und Director of Corporate Finance bei Cisco. Die Fachzeitschrift Treasury and Risk Management Magazine hat sie mehrfach als eine der “100 einflussreichsten Personen im Finanzbereich” bezeichnet.

Jennifer hat einen MBA von der University of Chicago Booth School of Business und BA-Abschlüsse in Kommunikation und Französisch von der Vanderbilt University. In ihrer Freizeit treibt sie gern Sport und dient anderen als Mentor. Außerdem entdeckt sie gern Neues und freut sich darauf, die Umgebung ihres neues Zuhauses im pazifischen Nordwesten der USA zu erkunden.

Mike Arntz, Senior VP, Worldwide Field Operations

Mike Arntz ist der Senior Vice President von Smartsheet für Field Operations weltweit. In dieser Rolle ist er verantwortlich für Vertrieb, Dienstleistungen und Support. Vor Smartsheet war Mike Senior VP of Sales für den amerikanischen Kontinent bei NetSuite. Davor hat er fast 20 Jahre bei Oracle Corp. gearbeitet, zuletzt als Group Vice President für Anwendungsvertrieb in Nordamerika. In dieser Funktion hat er die Vertriebsorganisation der Anwendungen von Oracle für Software as a Service (SaaS) entwickelt und geleitet.

Mike hat Abschlüsse in Ingenieurswesen und Biologie von der Michigan Technological University. Wenn er nicht arbeitet, feuert er seine drei Kinder bei ihren Sportaktivitäten Angeln, Segeln und Skifahren an.

Andrew Lientz, Senior VP of Engineering

Andrew Lientz ist der Senior Vice President of Engineering von Smartsheet. Mit mehr als 20 Jahren Führungserfahrung in Infrastruktur, Planung und SaaS war Andy Gründer bzw. Teil des Führungsteams für drei erfolgreiche Start-ups, u. a. Content Delivery Network EdgeCast, Web Analytics SaaS Provider Harvest Solutions und Web Development Agency Zentropy. Als Parter bei Microsoft leitete Andrew im Bereich Infrastruktur die Aktivitäten zur langfristigen Planung und internen CDN-Entwicklung.

Andrew besitzt einen Bachelor-Abschluss von Harvey Mudd und einen Master of Science in Elektrotechnik von der University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). Er zog 2012 von Los Angeles in den pazifischen Nordwesten, um den Jahreszeitenwechsel zu genießen, mehr Zeit mit seiner Familie zu verbringen und zu Fuß zur Arbeit gehen zu können. Als zielorientierter Fitness-Fanatiker ist er einen Marathon gelaufen, 150 km mit dem Rad gefahren und hat 250 kg Gewicht gestemmt.

Gene Farrell, Senior VP of Product

Gene Farrell ist Senior Vice President für Produkte bei Smartsheet. In dieser Funktion ist er verantwortlich für die Umsetzung der Unternehmensstrategien für Produkt- und Partnermarketing. In seiner vorherigen Position war Gene fünf Jahre lang bei Amazon Web Services als Vice President of Enterprise Application Services und EC2 Windows tätig. Vor Amazon bekleidete Gene 24 Jahre lang eine Führungsrolle bei The Coca-Cola Company, zuletzt sieben Jahre lang als Vice President und General Manager des Coca-Cola Freestyle Business Unit.

Gene absolvierte die University of Washington mit einem Abschluss in Betriebswirtschaftslehre und erwarb einen MBA von der Goizueta Business School der Emory University. Gene lebt mit seiner Frau Helen in Sammamish. In seiner Freizeit spielt er Golf, fährt Ski und Fahrrad und betreibt verschiedene Wassersportarten.

Kara Hamilton, Senior VP of People Operations

Kara Hamilton ist Senior Vice President für Personalwesen bei Smartsheet. Ihr Engagement für eine Unternehmenskultur der Motivation und Inspiration zahlt sich aus: Smartsheet wurde mehrfach als Top-Arbeitgeber ausgezeichnet, zuletzt vom Puget Sound Business Journal als bester Arbeitgeber im US-Staat Washington des Jahres 2017. Bevor sie sich ausschließlich auf den Bereich Personalwesen konzentrierte, hat Kara bei Smartsheet außerdem die Finanz-, Rechts- und IT-Abteilung bei Smartsheet geleitet. Vor Smartsheet war Kara Direktor für Finanzwesen bei GoAhead Software (aufgekauft von Oracle) und dort für die Leitung des Geschäftsbetriebs in den USA, Polen und Indien zuständig. Vor GoAhead hatte sie verschiedene Führungsrollen bei Vigilos inne, darunter Betrieb, Entwicklung und Finanzwesen. Drei Jahre lang war sie dort Vice President für Finanzen.

Kara hat einen Bachelor of Science-Abschluss in Betriebswirtschaft von der Santa Clara University. Ursprünglich aus der Bay-Area um San Fransciso stammend, verliebte sie sich in den pazifischen Nordwesten und lebt nun mit ihrer Familie in Phinney Ridge, einem Stadtviertel von Seattle.

Paul Porrini, General Counsel

Paul Porrini ist der General Counsel von Smartsheet. Er besitzt mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung bei der juristischen Beratung führender börsennotierter und privater Technologieunternehmen in Phasen des Wachstums und Wandels. Paul war zuvor President und Chief Executive Officer von YuMe, Inc. (NYSE: YUME), einer globalen digitalen Plattform für Videowerbung, nachdem er anfangs bei Yume die Funktionen des Executive Vice President, General Counsel und Secretary innehatte. Davor war er Vice President, stellvertretender General Counsel und Assistant Secretary bei der Hewlett-Packard Company (NYSE: HPQ), einem Großunternehmen der Technologiebranche. In einer früheren Position war er Senior Vice President, General Counsel und Secretary bei Bluestone Software, Inc. (NASDAQ: BLSW), einem Softwareunternehmen für Web-App-Server. Darüber hinaus war er Partner und Associate bei verschiedenen Kanzleien.

Seine rechtliche Laufbahn begann Paul in der Abteilung Corporation Finance der U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Er hat einen B.S. in quantitativer Unternehmensanalyse der Pennsylvania State University und promovierte in Rechtswissenschaft an der Widener University School of Law. Außerdem hat er einen L.L.M. (für Steuerrecht) vom Georgetown University Law Center. Seine Freizeit verbringt er mit seinen drei erwachsenen Kindern sowie mit Wandern, Radfahren und Hockey.

Management

Smartsheet Management

Mark Mader, President and CEO

Mark Mader serves as President and CEO of Smartsheet, a high-growth software company transforming the way organizations plan, track, automate, and report on work at scale. Based in Seattle, Mark leads a high-performing team of over 800 employees bringing to market a SaaS platform used by millions of people at over 74,000 customers, including more than half of the Fortune 500.

Mark is a recognized leader in the technology community, having been named Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year in Technology for the Pacific Northwest, and GeekWire’s CEO of the Year. Under his leadership, Smartsheet was named Washington’s Best Workplace by the Puget Sound Business Journal, and Seattle’s Next Tech Titan by GeekWire. Mark also serves as a board member of the University of Washington Information School, one of the world’s top information science programs.

Passionate about entrepreneurship and tech innovation, Mark is a contributor to media outlets like CNBC and Entrepreneur, and has been a featured speaker at many events, including Startup Grind, YPO Innovation Week, and the NYSE Tech Leadership Summit.

Prior to Smartsheet, Mark served as senior vice president of global services for Onyx Software, leading the consulting and customer-facing teams in the Americas, Europe, and Asia. A dual-citizen of Germany and the United States, he has spent considerable time working and living abroad and applies that global perspective to the products and services that Smartsheet delivers. Mark graduated with a B.A. in Geography from Dartmouth College.

Jennifer Ceran, CFO

Jennifer Ceran is Smartsheet’s chief financial officer. With more than 25 years of work experience in the US and internationally, Jennifer is passionate about creating high performing teams. Prior to Smartsheet, Jennifer was the CFO of Quotient Technology Inc. (formerly Coupons.com), VP Finance of Box Inc., VP Finance of eBay Inc. and Director of Corporate Finance at Cisco. She has frequently been recognized by Treasury and Risk Management Magazine as one of the “100 Most Influential People in Finance”.

Jennifer received an MBA from the University of Chicago Booth School of Business and BAs in Communication and French from Vanderbilt University. In her free time, she enjoys exercising and mentoring others. She also has an adventurous side and looks forward to exploring the surroundings in her new home in the Pacific Northwest.

Mike Arntz, Senior VP of Worldwide Field Operations

Mike Arntz is Smartsheet’s senior vice president of worldwide field operations, responsible for the company’s sales, service, and support operations. Before joining Smartsheet, Mike served as NetSuite's senior VP of sales, Americas. Prior to that, he spent nearly 20 years at Oracle Corp., most recently serving as group vice president, North America application sales, where he created and led the organization responsible for sales of Oracle's Software as a Service (SaaS) applications.

Mike received degrees in engineering and biology from Michigan Technological University. In his non-work time he enjoys cheering on his three kids in their various sports activities, fishing, sailing, and skiing.

Andrew Lientz, Senior VP of Engineering

Andrew Lientz is the senior vice president of engineering at Smartsheet. With over 20 years of experience as a leader in infrastructure, planning, and SaaS, he has been the founder of, or on the leadership team for, three successful start-ups including content delivery network EdgeCast, web analytics SaaS provider Harvest Solutions, and web development agency Zentropy. As a partner at Microsoft, Andrew led infrastructure efforts in both long range planning and internal CDN development.

Andrew graduated with a B.S. from Harvey Mudd and an M.S. in Electrical Engineering from UCLA. He moved to the Pacific Northwest from Los Angeles in 2012 to experience seasons, more time with his family and an opportunity to walk to work. A goal-oriented fitness enthusiast, he has run a marathon, ridden 100 miles on a bike and bench pressed 500 pounds.

Gene Farrell, Senior VP of Product

Gene Farrell is the senior vice president of product at Smartsheet, responsible for executing the company's product and partner marketing strategies. Gene comes to Smartsheet from Amazon Web Services where he spent 5 years as vice president of enterprise application services and EC2 Windows. Prior to his leadership at Amazon, Gene spent 24 years as a senior executive at The Coca-Cola Company, the last 7 of which as vice president and general manager of the Coca-Cola Freestyle Business Unit.

Gene graduated with a degree in business administration and management from the University of Washington and received an MBA from Emory University’s Goizueta Business School. Gene and his wife Helen live in Sammamish and in his spare time, he enjoys golf, snow skiing, cycling and almost all water sports.

Kara Hamilton, Senior VP of People Operations

Kara Hamilton is the senior vice president of people operations for Smartsheet. She is dedicated to creating a culture that motivates and inspires, and it shows: Smartsheet has garnered several workplace awards, most recently taking top honors as Puget Sound Business Journal's 2017 Washington's Best Workplace. Prior to focusing exclusively on Smartsheet's people operations, Kara also led finance, legal and IT at Smartsheet. Before joining Smartsheet, Kara served as the director of finance for GoAhead Software (acquired by Oracle), and led their business operations across the US, Poland, and India. Prior to GoAhead, she held various leadership roles at Vigilos across operations, development and finance, and served as their vice president of finance for three years.

Kara graduated with a B.S. in Commerce from Santa Clara University. A Bay Area native who fell in love with the Pacific Northwest, Kara and her family live in the Phinney Ridge neighborhood of Seattle.

Paul Porrini, General Counsel

Paul Porrini is general counsel of Smartsheet. He has over 20 years of experience leading public and private technology companies through periods of significant growth and change. Paul most recently served as president and chief executive officer at YuMe, Inc. (NYSE: YUME), a global digital video advertising platform; prior to that, he was their executive vice president, general counsel, and secretary. Previously, he was vice president, deputy general counsel, and assistant secretary at Hewlett-Packard Company (NYSE: HPQ), a large cap technology company. Before that he was senior vice president, general counsel, and secretary of Bluestone Software, Inc. (NASDAQ: BLSW), a web app server enterprise software company. He has also held partner and associate roles at several law firms.

Paul began his legal career in the US SEC's Division of Corporation Finance. He holds a B.S. in quantitative business analysis from Pennsylvania State University, a J.D. from Widener University School of Law, and an L.L.M. (Taxation) from Georgetown University Law Center. In his spare time, Paul likes keeping track of his 3 grown children, hiking, cycling, and playing hockey.