Article

Meet Pip Hare, British sailor in the Vendée Globe

by Melissa Cafiero

This Sunday, British sailor Pip Hare begins her journey to compete in the 2020-2021 Vendée Globe. The Vendée Globe is a solo, non-stop round-the-world yacht race that happens every four years.

Since the inaugural competition in 1989, only seven women have attempted the race. But this year, there are a record six female competitors, one of whom is Pip.

Smartsheet is proud to sponsor Pip’s Vendée Globe endeavor. We see a spirit in Pip that we see in our customers — a determination and drive that inspires action.

Behind-the-scenes of the race village

Leading up to the Vendée Globe, friends, family members, and fans typically spend time visiting the race village. They’re able to see the different boats, talk to racers, and watch as race teams complete final preparations.

Of course, as we all well know, this year is different. Due to France’s COVID-19 lockdown, the Vendée Globe race village closed to the public as of Thursday, Oct. 29. Since we can’t be there in person, Pip took us on a virtual tour as she explored the dock in the race village.

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Pip Hare Ocean Racing (@piphareoceanracing) on

 

Follow Pip’s journey

We’ll be cheering for Pip as she sets sail this weekend. You can watch the start of the race live on YouTube this Sunday, Nov. 8, at 12:02 p.m. UTC/GMT (4:02 a.m. PT, 7:02 a.m. ET, 11:02 p.m. AEDT). And we invite you to join us as we follow her journey via the Pip Hare’s Vendée Globe Pursuit Smartsheet dashboard.

If you want to post on social media with a message of support to Pip, be sure to tag @piphareoceanracing, @smartsheet (Twitter) or @smartsheetplatform (Instagram), and include the #CanDo hashtag!

To learn even more about Pip, her boat, and the race, visit: https://www.smartsheet.com/pip-hare-journey.